Wednesday, April 15, 2015

Fantasy Life.

Platform: Nintendo 3DS
Genre: Open World RPG
Release Date: October 24, 2014, (JPN)December 27, 2012
Date Reviewed: March 24th, 2015

Fantasy Life is an open world RPG created by Level-5. Fantasy Life is a unique game where you are able to choose what life you want to live. There are 12 different lives you can choose from with each life having a ranking system. If you want to master all lives then prepare to dish out easily over 100 hours trying to do so. There is a main campaign to this game that is roughly 8 hours or so. It took myself 28 hours to complete due to doing the side quests and mastering mining with a little of mercenary and paladin as well. Fantasy Life has a Harvest Moon/Sims/Rune Factory feel to it and it is a good mixture.

Your character and your life.

You start the game off in an attic apartment where you are then introduced to the main story, great in game features and your choice of which life to venture off into. One great thing about the life system is you are able to change your life anytime you want. Each life always starts off with a mini tutorial on how to use the skills for that life as well as materials used for that life. Each life is unique and is very different from the other. Only ones that are remotely similar are the combat lifes which they should. They can vary from Blacksmithing, Sewing, Archery, fishing, and many others. Each life has a life master who you will report to once you've completed the tasks they ask you to. Once these tasks are completed you hand them in and turn acquire stars. Once you have hit the stars required you will rank up that life. Each rank up provide a stat increase associated with that life and new skills. For example if you are a miner you will learn a new skill where you can power up your attacks every time you mine a node.

Open World fun!

Fantasy life allows you to buy new homes, decorate them and own one home in each section of the world acquiring a total of 3 homes at a time. Another great feature is being able to play with your friends or other people online. This is a great opportunity to show off your homes and even take down some bosses that you are unable to solo. Only downfall to this is if you do not have the DLC and your friends does; you will not be able to play with them unless you have the DLC as well. Other than that your other party member can fully explore and help you take on some powerful monsters and complete those tough quests. Highly recommended feature to use.

Overall Fantasy Life is great for RPG fans alike. It is a cute little RPG that has a long of bang for your buck. Pick your life and explore Riveria with your friends, take down powerful foes, decorate your home, and have some fun! This game is highly recommended.


GREAT GAME
9/10

Cody's Reviews Twitter- Cody's Reviews  *  Cody's Twitter- Cody  *  Cody's Reviews Facebook- Samuel  *  Samuel's Twitter- Cody

Monday, April 13, 2015

The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Mask 3D

Platform: Nintendo 3DS, "New" Nintendo 3DS
Platform Reviewed f or: "New" Nintendo 3DS
Genre: Action-Adventure.
Release Date: February 13, 2015
Date Reviewed: March 20th, 2015

       Majora's Mask 3D is an HD remake of the N64 version from the year 2000. 15 years later and lots of begging from the fans we have it remade for the Nintendo 3DS. I played this on the "NEW" 3DS XL and the 3DS XL and prefer it a lot more on the newer model for the simple reason of the C-Stick which makes the camera very tolerable and easy to handle. The 3DS version offers a lot of new features and tweaks to the game. Some of these new additions include the addition of the Bomber Handbook. I find this useful because whenever you talk to and important NPC that offers a side quest it automatically goes into your notebook and what times they can be seen at and also offer additional hints on where to begin. Another feature with the book is the ability to set in game alarms so if you need to be at a certain place at a certain time you can set an alarm to notify you. One feature I wish they would've added to the book is the ability to draw or take notes yourself. If you walk around town and talk with the other Bomber Gang children then will tell you the heard a rumor and it will also automatically get put into your notebook.

Great Interface.

      Majora's Mask 3D is not only a beautiful game but very accessible. You are able to switch between items a lot faster on the fly. With the addition of two more item slots you are even able to assign two more items to your touch screen for the use of more items. Majora's Mask 3D looks really great with the 3D enabled, especially on the “New” 3DS because of the built in face detection. The controls are smooth, and very easy to master. The gameplay plays the same as the original and Ocarina of Time 3D with a few added tweaks to bring it up to date to today's standards. You go around to four temples and retrieve the mask off of each boss in order to awaken 4 gods to stop the moon from crashing and destroying Clock Town. However, this is done on a time limit of only 3 days and every time you go back into time in order to add more time to be able to beat the other temples you need to actually revisit each temple again in order to engage with Skull Kid. The beauty of this though is when you go back to a previous temple after already beating it a portal will open up at the entrance of each temple to send you back to the bosses. On top of the main quest there are many many side quests you can do in the game. The most disappointing factor from all of this is the lack of temples to go through and of course…..Great Bay Temple is still evil and annoying as ever.

Bombers Notebook is a great addition!

     Overall Majora’s Mask 3D is another exceptional HD remake in the Zelda series. Just like the prior Ocarina of Time 3D this wasn't just a simple remake. The controls are great which is vastly improved by the C-stick on the “New” Nintendo 3DS handhelds. The 3D is exceptional as well but again better on the “New” model thanks to facial detection. Even if this is your first time playing Majora’s Mask this is a must own game for your collection. The story is dark which provides a different take on the series. This is probably one of the most emotional games in the Zelda series since it mainly involves with death. The only really negative thing about this game is Great Bay Temple and the lack of main temples. Great work! Hope we will see more like this.

MUST OWN!
9/10

Cody's Reviews Twitter- Cody's Reviews  *  Cody's Twitter- Cody  *  Cody's Reviews Facebook- Samuel  *  Samuel's Twitter- Cody

Wednesday, February 18, 2015

Hearthstone Deck Tech - ZOOLOCK

     Hey guys, Samuel here.  I'm sorry for my absence, but school really has been quite crazy.  Today, I bring you the first in my Hearthstone series.  In this post, I will be showcasing a deck, known as Zoolock.  Before I begin, however, I must state that I am not a master of Hearthstone.  I only play semi-casually, my highest rank being Rank 8.  To put things into perspective, I am at 225 wins towards my first golden portrait, the Warlock portrait.  Let the Zoo begin!

     Zoolock is a quite inexpensive deck.  Costing only 940 dust to begin with, it is the perfect deck to beginners to begin with.
  • 2x Flame Imp
  • 2x Voidwalker
  • 2x Power Overwhelming
  • 2x Darkbomb
  • 2x Leper Gnome
  • 2x Clockwork Gnome
  • 2x Elven Archer
  • 2x Abusive Sargent
  • 2x Knife Juggler
  • 2x Nerubian Egg
  • 2x Haunted Creeper
  • 2x Dire Wolf Alpha
  • 2x Harvest Golem
  • 2x Shattered Sun Cleric
  • 2x Wolf Rider
  • 2x Dark Iron Dwarf
     The general strategy with this deck is to establish early board control.  To do this, mulligan heavily for your Flame Imps, Voidwalkers, and Leper and Clockwork Gnomes.  Don't be afraid to trade when it favors you.  Because this is an aggro style deck, games should be over relatively quickly.  Your ultimate finisher should be a combination of Wolf Riders, Dark Iron Dwarfs, Abusive Sargents, and Dire Wolf Alphas.
     
     After you get some more dust, I would recommend making the following card swaps:
  • 2x Elven Archers for 2x Implosions
  • 2x Mechanical Gnomes for 2x Defender of Argus
  • 2x Wolfrider for 2x Doomguard
     The following cards are simply Tech Cards that may help you out.
  • Shadowflame- This can be a very nice AoE board clear against aggro.  However, the mana cost is a little high.  This card can be very nice when used in conjunction with Dark Iron Dwarf, Abusive Sargent or Power Overwhelming + Nerubian Egg.  If at all, I would recommend running 1 of these cards.
  • Ironbeak Owl-  This card can be a good tool to help you get through tricky cards like Sludge Belchers, Twilight Drakes, and big Taunt creatures like Ironbark Protectors.  However, this card should not be used that much, as games should be over by the time big creatures hit the board.
Mulligan Guide
General Mulligan:  This being an aggro deck, always mulligan for a fast start.  Keep the following cards in your hand.  
  • Flame Imp
  • Voidwalker
  • Leper Gnome
  • Knife Juggler
  • Haunted Creeper
Mech Mage:  This matchup is relatively straightforward.  Keep Darkbomb in your hand to deal with their Mechwarper.  Knife Juggler + Implosion works wonders to clean up the board.  I have decimated boards with double Knife Juggler + Implosion

Most Control Decks:  With control decks, the trick is to rush them down fast.  Games should be over by turn 5 when you can Doomguard, before they can drop big threats such as Ironbark Protectors, Giants, Etc.

Oil Rogue:  This matchup is quite possibly the hardest matchup for this deck.  Keep lots of Taunt creatures up as much as you can, and keep Nerubian Eggs and Haunted Creepers on board to deter against AoE with Blade Flurry/Fan of Knives.  Other than that, rush them down!


Personal Additions
I have personally made a couple changes to this deck to suit my play style.  I have swapped out the two Shattered Sun Clerics for a Shadowflame and Lord Jaraxxus.  Shadowflame, as mentioned before serves as a good AoE.  I personally use this to help deal with the Mech Mage matchup.  Also, Lord Jaraxxus helps quite alot with the control matchup to get a quick heal up to 15 and to get a ridiculously OP hero power.

     Well, this concludes this Deck Tech.  I hoped this helped, and I would like to tell you guys that I have an interview with a high ranked

Cody's Reviews Twitter- Cody's Reviews
Cody's Twitter- Cody
Samuel's Twitter- Samuel

Sunday, January 11, 2015

Minecraft


Platform: Xbox One, PS3-4, PS Vita, PC/Mac, Mobile
Platform Reviewed For:  PC/Mac
Release Date: November 18, 2011
Date Reviewed: January 11, 2015

        Minecraft is a sandbox based survival game.  What makes Minecraft special is the fact that there is no real end-game win scenario.  There may be the "big bosses" of Minecraft with the Ender Dragon and the Wither, but there is still other things to do even after defeating the bosses.  There are three primary modes of Minecraft:  Survival, Creative, and Adventure.  In survival, there are mobs who can kill you that spawn at night, where you must race to find shelter before night falls.  In Creative, you have unlimited resources at your disposal.  You can build freely, to your heart's content.  People have built incredible locations in Minecraft Creative, such as Minas Tirith from Lord of the Rings.  In adventure, you cannot break certain blocks, but you can still manipulate levers.

Minas Tirith- Built in Minecraft

        Minecraft has incredible potential.  As mentioned above, you can build freely, even after defeating the strongest mobs in the game.  On Multiplayer mode, you can play with other people, with game modes varying from PvP in a Hunger Games style arena to parkour, to Spleef, which is a game mode in which you try to break the blocks under other players.  After playing Minecraft for over 3 years, I still have not gotten bored with the game.

          Minecraft has very interesting graphics.  The graphics of Minecraft resemble old 16-bit arcade games.  Everything is cuboid, including the animals.  However, there is downloadable content called resource packs.  Resource packs can change how the game looks and sounds, going from mono-color blocks to hyper-realistic textures.  Also, the mobs of Minecraft all happen to be cuboid shaped.

A gallery of the mobs in Minecraft

Overal Rating:  9.5/10
Must own! This game is incredibly versatile.

Cody's Reviews Twitter- Cody's Reviews
Cody's Twitter- Cody
Samuel's Twitter- Samuel

Thursday, January 8, 2015

Chariot

Platform: Nintendo Wii U, Xbox One, PS4, PC
Platform Reviewed for: Nintendo Wii U
Genre: Puzzle Plat-former
Release Date: January 8th, 2015 (Wii U), September 30th, 2014 (XB1, PS4, PC)
Date Reviewed: January 8th, 2015

       Chariot is a puzzle plat-former where the goal is to pull, push and guide a Chariot around each level collection treasure and special items. Each level get increasingly harder and longer with challenges on each level as you complete them. After your first run though a level you unlock additional modes and areas for that same level. After the completion of a level you also acquire gold from all of the treasure you have collected overall. You use this gold to purchase upgrades and new items to make your adventure a little easier but to also over come new obstacles in the later levels. Chariot is a well lengthened game that you can spend hours upon hours on unlocking everything and even just going through each level. Each level is a minimum of 15 minutes or longer if you aren't rushing through it. Collect as much treasure as possible because you will need the gold.

"Papercuts Scare me to Death!"

       Chariot is a very pleasing game with lots of humour, and adventures. The big selling point of this game is the cooperative play. Chariot makes it so that if you play with a friend you can overcome even more challenges and get more rewards for your efforts. Chariot is designed for cooperative play. You are obviously able to play solo but it is much more enjoyable with a friend. With cooperative play there are challenges that you and a friend are able to do. If you do these challenges you are able to get diamonds which gives you a lot of gold. It is well worth the frustration sometimes.

Co-op is great in Chariot!

       Chariot is a very beautiful game visually with tons of colors, unique art work, beautiful environments and even other NPC's. Each level has it's own unique look and feel to it. The character models and animations are extremely well done and really captures each of the characters personality. Chariot's soundtrack is top notch as well. Again, each zone has their own unique music and sounds which really sets the mood for each zone.

       In Conclusion Chariot is a must own indie developed game. What I love most about the Wii U version of the game is obviously the tablet feature where you are able to have one person play on the TV and the other play on the tablet anywhere in the house. The one thing I do wish they would have done is add more features with the tablet for in game. Maybe even something small such as interacting with the environment with your finger. If you are looking for a good sit down cooperative game Chariot is perfect for that.

Overall Rating:


9.0/10



Must Own!

Wednesday, January 7, 2015

Hi!

Hey guys, Samuel here.

You may be wondering "Hey, who's this Samuel guy, and what is he doing here?"  Well, to answer your question, I am Cody's new partner in reviews.  I mainly play Minecraft but I also play a bit of Hearthstone in my spare time.  I will be publishing content weekly hopefully, but due to my schedule being a student, content may not be released as steadily as I would like.  I play to alternate content every other episode, alternating between Minecraft content and Hearthstone content.  Thanks for reading, and I play to upload my first episode this weekend.

Want to stay up to date with Cody's reviews?
Facebook
Twitter
Youtube


Don't forget he also live streams!
Twitch


Follow me on twitter!

Twitter

Top 14 Games of 2014!



14. Gauntlet: 
Gauntlet is a remake of the original for the PC. This game got a lot of negative reviews because there wasn't enough to the game. I personally really enjoyed this version of the game. It's difficult, fast paced, great co-op, and very rewarding in the end. 


13. Hearthstone: Heroes of Warcraft.
Hearthstone: Heroes of Warcraft is on this list because I have always loved TCG games. I am a huge Warcraft fan, mix that with cards and we have a winner. Tons of cards, free to play, ranked mode, free in game rewards, and excellent strategy is what got me hooked on this game.


12. Smite.
Smite is also on this top 14 list because out of all of the MOBAS (next to Heroes of the Storm, it's still in alpha) Smite is the only one I enjoy playing. You play as gods in a third person view which makes the game a lot more interesting in the long run. Tons of great gods, costumes, game modes, etc.... and this makes for an excellent MOBA. Oh...and it is also free to play. It was recently announced for the Xbox One.


11. Hyrule Warriors.
Hyrule Warriors takes place in the style of the Dynasty Warriors series but set in the Zelda universe. Hyrule Warriors in on my top 14 list because it is loaded with content and fun. The story is abysmal, graphics and frame rate are fantastic, co-op is fun, story mode is fun but what made the game was the Adventure Mode. Tons to do, if you're a Zelda fan or Dynasty Warriors fan this is the game for you.


10. Bravely Default.
Bravely Default is a step back to how Final Fantasy used to be. There is so much to do and explore in this game. Tons of different jobs to choose and master from as well as a decent story. The music is to heaven to your ears and the visuals are beautiful on the 3DS! Fan of classic RPG's? Get this.


9. Captain Toad: Treasure Tracker.
Captain Toad is a character from the game Super Mario 3D World. He was given his own game due to his popularity in the game. Captain Toad takes place before the events in Super Mario 3D World and is a fun 3D puzzle platforming game. Highly recommended and very fun to play. Has a Nintendo charm that keeps making you smile.


8. Mario Kart 8.
Mario Kart is also on this list! I have been a huge fan of the Mario Kart series ever since the original one. Mario Kart 8 upped that ante again! Anti-gravity mechanics, beautiful graphics, great soundtrack and competitive online play. Mario Kart 8 also offers very well priced DLC where you can even race as Link!


7. Chariot.
Chariot is a platformer with an interesting mechanic. You need to pull, push and grapple and Chariot along the way collection as much treasure as possible and going through each level. Each time you beat a level you get to unlock additional modes for that same level adding more gameplay. Chariot is one of the most fun co-op games I have played in a long time. Give it a try!


6. Shovel Knight.
Shovel Knight is a game that a lot of people have been excited for. It is a 2D platformer set in the NES era. The gameplay is phenomenal and don't even get me started with the music. Fun, fast, and addictive gameplay. Mixes Mega Man, Castlevania and Mario all into one beautiful game.


5. Super Smash Bros. 3DS/Wii U.
Super Smash Bros. is another obvious pick for this list. A fan of the series since the beginning and now they have improved it once again in so many ways. Obviously the Wii U version is superior in graphics and smoothness but the 3DS version is still fun as ever. Great addition tot the smash family.


4. Pokemon Omega Ruby/Alpha Sapphire.
Pokemon ORAS is a remake of the original Ruby and Sapphire version of the game on the Gameboy Advance. My personal favorite in the series. This version offers a somewhat new story, new mega evolution's, Hoenn Remade in HD, and tons of new features. Another fantastic entry in the series.


3. Middle Earth: Shadow of Mordor
Shadow of Mordor is another entry in the Lord of the Rings series. You play as Talion who is seeking revenge after seeing his family and himself slaughtered by Sauron's army. Shadow of Mordor has a familiar feeling to it. It is like Assassins Creed but a much better improvement of it. The nemesis system is an amazing system in the game as well as the huge open world you can explore.


2. Dragon Age: Inquisition.
Dragon Age: Inquisition is the best in the series so far. Takes a lot of great things from the first game and improves it drastically. The game is huge, beautiful and has a great story. Very addicting and easily can consume 100+ hours into this diverse world. Dragon Age is highly recommended even if you are just a fan of RPG's.


1. World of Warcraft: Warlords of Draenor
Yes, my number one goes to the flawless World of Warcraft expansion. The big reason is because Blizzard has outdone themselves with this one. This expansion alone brought back 3 million players. The telling of the lore has been greatly improved, the garrisons is one of the best features ever added to this game, the new raid Highmaul is a blast, and it brings back a lot from The Burning Crusade. This is a must buy. This is Cody's Reviews #1 game of 2014.

Want to stay up to date with my reviews?
Facebook
Twitter
Youtube

Don't forget I also live stream!
Twitch